On Pins and Needles


Purl

Originally uploaded by limonene.

I’m not known for my willpower when it comes to yarn. I’ve gone on yarn diets with varying (read: small) degrees of success before, but none of them have really stuck. I can talk myself into some new sock yarn, or something soft and lovely from the sale bin, or pretty much anything, really. So this year I decided to try something different, something with teeth. This year, I gave up buying yarn for Lent. There was some debauchery at Blue Moon Fiber Arts involving a pair of skeins of Socks That Rock on Mardi Fil, and that was to be it. No new yarn until after Easter. I’ve been doing mostly OK, with just one major slip: the moving sale at String. According to my sources, Sundays don’t count as part of Lent, and you can do whatever it was that you’d given up, and I ran with that loophole to $210 worth of a cashmere/silk blend for $30. I’d say that I wasn’t proud, but that is going to make a really nice lace wrap.

Why all this background? Because on Sunday, I went into the lion’s den: Purl in Soho. And yes, I was hedging my bets somewhat–old habits die hard. I went in search of the new Addi Lace needles , and I came out with…Addi lace needles in 2.5 and 3.0 mm and size 000 Addi Turbos. I’m improving at this whole not-buying-yarn thing.

Now I just have to get myself to put down the Crusoe socks and stay away from the yarn for Eugen Beugler’s Spring Blossoms shawl until I get the second half of that Argosy finished.

2 thoughts on “On Pins and Needles

  1. Oooh! I like the redesign! 🙂 beautiful lace. Purl can do that to you… I hope you like the lace needles. I haven’t had time to play with them yet. You are a strong woman. I’m impressed. What are your plans for those000s?

  2. Thanks! I can’t wait to try out the needles too. I have some CopperBoo and really fine laceweight from Habu, and I think that the really 000 needles will be just the ticket for them, if I can even turn the copper-bamboo yarn into lace.

    I’m no superwoman though. I also made a stop at Purl Patchwork to buy some fabric to make swatch portraits for above my bed as soon as I find a reasonable source for embroidery hoops.

Leave a Reply

