As the heel turns…




Turning the heel

Originally uploaded by limonene.

Yep. I went there. Work on Crusoe continues apace (I can’t put it down!), and I’ve finally turned my first flap heel. I decided against the Eye of Partridge heel and went with the stranded heel stitch in the pattern to keep up the whole “stranded” motif. The heel feels a little funny on, which is probably partially my fault. I ended up combining a couple of different patterns for the flap and the turn, and that’s seldom a good idea when you don’t really know what you’re doing. I think it’ll end up being comfortable enough, but I’m not sure that I’m ready to give up my short-row heels yet. One thing going for the flap heel: it looks pretty cool, because I used Grumperina’s method of picking up stitches for the gusset.

After picking up all those stitches, I started to develop a case of the “mean reds.” And since there’s only one cure for that, there was no other choice…
Knitting at Tiffany's
…but to go to Tiffany’s!

The sock has been knitting up very quickly at this point. When I did the gusset decreases, I decreased down to 52 stitches, taking an extra 4 stitches out of the sole to get a better fit. I just hope that I have enough to get me through the subway ride to and from trivia tonight before I have to start decreasing for the toes!

Leave a Reply

