Crusoe

Crusoe, originally uploaded by limonene.

And here’s my first Crusoe in all its jelly-bean-colored glory. I cast on 48 stitches for the stockinette portion, and then increased to 56 before starting the stranded pattern. I knit 24 repeats of the stranded pattern before knitting the heel flap in the stranded stitch from the Crusoe pattern and doing the heel turn from Broadripple from Knitty. I left about two inches for the toes and followed the decrease pattern from Crusoe until I had 12 stitches left, and then I attempted to graft the toe:
IMG_2090.JPG
and it’s weird, but if I’m lucky, it’ll hold up.

And finally, here’s some Eye Candy Friday, courtesy of the Orchid Show, which is in its final weekend at the New York Botanical Garden in the Bronx:
IMG_1551.JPG

3 thoughts on “Crusoe

  1. I grow those orchids at home! They all tried to produced flowers this year, but my house is so dry, I only got one stalk to survive. But they’re green cimbidiums, just like in your photo. =)Procrastinating from data analysis has brought me from Suse’s blog to here. Whee!

  2. Yay, pretty orchids!

    The Knitty Kitchener instructions have never failed me. I think you’re generating a ridge of purl bumps by accidentally doing a garter stitch graft, which is at the bottom of the article.

    And yay! I’m so glad that I can provide Dori with procrastination activities!

Leave a Reply

