Gothic Spires Progress

Gothic Spires Progress, originally uploaded by limonene.

I’ve gotten through the cuff and leg, and I’m a little more than half-way through the heel flap of my Gothic Spires socks. I’m telling myself that I only need one to gift-wrap (I’m not giving something that’s still on the needles). I’m afraid the color might be too dark or jazzy, but I’m going to hope for the best, and maybe make an offer to do them over in a lighter color, if necessary. Excessive? Maybe, but the slipper socks were such a hit that I’m hoping to duplicate the success.

As the weather gets warmer, the days get longer, and the flowers bloom, I am once again looking forward to knitting more lace. I’m starting to think that my first project won’t be from the stash, but more of a project of necessity, or “necessity” if you will. This is the year of weddings for me–6 in a 12 month period, and it would have been 7 had I taken up an invitation to wedding crash last Sunday–so I felt like adding another dress to the rotation. I found a really great one at Bloomingdales completely by accident. I was going shopping with some friends and saw it on the clearance rack. It was marked down to $58.50 and I had a $25 certificate, so when I tried it on on a whim and it fit, I took it home with me. There’s only one tiny drawback: none of my current shawls really “go”, except for maybe the white one and I’ll need something to wear over it for the religious portion of ceremonies. This is what the fabric looks like:
IMG_3346.JPG
So I’ve bought 2 oz of black Zephyr from Sarah’s Yarns, and I’ll probably make the Spring Things Shawl as soon as I order that pattern. But is black lace going to be OK for a wedding? Should I consider something else?

One thought on “Gothic Spires Progress

Leave a Reply

