What a weekend!

IMG_3402.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

They say the third time’s the charm, and after finishing my first Gothic Spire sock (pattern by Cookie A), I have to agree. I finished the toe decreases, and got to the dreaded grafting. Once again, with the help of the Knitty tutorial, I cut my yarn and grabbed my trusty darning needle. I paid closer attention to which way the needle was pointing after drawing it through a loop, and at the end, I got this:
IMG_3390.JPG
which tightened up into this:
IMG_3411.JPG
By jove, I think I’ve got it!

Fresh off this victory, I’m looking forward to starting my next project (if socks are gifts for family, I just give one at first to make sure it fits). I’m going to be making another baby kimono, and I’m really looking forward to starting some shawls, even if I don’t have occasions in mind for the shawls yet. And then there’s the matter of a new traveling sock, which will definitely not involve charts this time.

The past couple of days have been quite a kick. I went to two birthday parties yesterday, the first of which was Derby themed. My streak of good luck when surrounded by the trivia night team that I sub with every now and then continued, so there’s some new yarn in my future. It was a great, really eclectic group of people too and I even got to meet Deadspin Will in person. I continued the socializing marathon later at night with a very different, but just as nice crowd. Good times.

And in the “all about the Salmons” file comes what’s perhaps the best news of the day. The Rocket is back in the Bronx! Brian Cashman, who might just have a potential career as a CIA operative if he gets tired of this whole GM thing, managed to sign Roger Clemens without anyone hearing a word about it beforehand. I admit that I soured on Clemens a bit when he pulled his “I’m retiring! Psych!” act a few years back, but now that he’s back in the fold, I take it all back. Not to mention that the good karma extended onto the field, where the team picked up their first shutout of the season. It was all super-exciting to watch.

One thought on “What a weekend!

Leave a Reply

