Koigu Anklets

Koigu Anklets, originally uploaded by limonene.

How far can one skein of Koigu take you? After finding a great single skein at Purl, I wanted to find out. I divided my skein, used the magic toe-up cast on and crossed my fingers. To accommodate the lacy stitch pattern that I liked, I ended up with 60 stitches on 2.5 mm needles. Because I didn’t want to completely deviate from my usual formula I stuck with a short row heel over 29 stitches, going down to 13 stitches. After all was said and done (and a little trial and error), I had enough yarn to do 4 pattern repeats on the cuff, followed by three rows of twisted k1 p1 ribbing.

When it came to binding off, though, I was feeling adventurous again. Even though transferring the knit and purl stitches to different needles was a very fiddly process (fraught with dropping stitches), I do have to admit that the sewn bindoff for k1 p1 ribbing is the nicest looking one that I’ve used to date. And since it’s the same as Kitchener stitching/grafting, once I got into it again, I was cruising along.

By the end of the second sock, I was casting off really quickly, hoping the yarn wouldn’t notice that it was about to run out. I may have been pulling the yarn a bit tighter than absolutely necessary, but the bindoff didn’t seem like it was stretched too tight. I’d take a picture of the leftover yarn, but I wove it all into the cuff.

IMG_3529.JPG

So the answer to my question is: one pair of size 7 anklets with pretty much nothing to spare. Not too shabby.

I sure hope they hold up decently well, because I’m definitely going to make socks like this in the future. They went so fast, and this way, I can have pretty Koigu socks without the $25 investment. I’ll probably go with fewer than 60 stitches, however, because I like a bit more negative ease in my socks, and I will need to stick with lacy patterns–I don’t know if I could make it above the heel turn with a solid fabric.

Leave a Reply

