Heartbreaker

IMG_3561.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

Here’s the progress so far on the baby kimono. I must have gotten 5 inches done while I was at pub trivia last night. There’s nothing like straight garter stitch for knitting in dim rooms. I’ve been knitting solely from memory and formula thus far–I loaned my copy of the book to a friend–but I’m rapidly approaching the complicated part and I don’t know how good my improvisation skills are.

I’m a bit uncertain about the measurements on this thing, and whether they’ll actually fit a real baby. My gauge is, once again, much larger than I expected, so my 40 stitch cast on has given me a sweater that’s 11 inches wide. In the original pattern, and the last one of these I made, the length of the body to the arm increases is half of the width of the sweater. I followed that guideline again, but for some reason, the 6″ body seems a bit too short. I might have to add on an edging afterwards. I guess it’ll be something to look forward to seeing.

Leave a Reply

