It’s all over but the seaming…

IMG_4053.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

And, of course, knitting the last I-cord tie. The body of the sweater is 11 inches wide, and 6 inches long, up to the base of the sleeves, and the sleeves are 7-8 inches, I believe. My only modification to the pattern itself was knitting it at a larger gauge than the one in Mason Dixon Knitting, and I mostly just breezed right through it. The only place I ran into trouble was on the fronts, when I had to add the navy blue edging to conserve the pink yarn. It took several attempts to come up with a pattern of stripes that would look like I meant for it to be like that all along and would leave me with enough yarn (I hope) for the seaming. The back is just plain pink, but I think it’s still pretty darn cute.

As a special treat for myself, I think I’m going to let myself cast on a new pair of socks for my college reunion this weekend. I’m still not done with my grandmother’s Mothers Day socks, but Gothic Spire is definitely not a pattern for social kntting (ask me how I know!).

2 thoughts on “It’s all over but the seaming…

  1. Gothic Spire is definitely not a pattern for social kntting (ask me how I know!).

    Ooh, ooh! I’ll ask! How do you know that Gothic Spire is not a good social knitting pattern?

    I know that my Irish Diamond Shawl certainly wasn’t a good commuting project until I reached the ending garter stitch border. I don’t like stopping in the middle of a pattern row.

Leave a Reply

