Razor Cami

Razor Cami, originally uploaded by limonene.

I’ve got startitis. Have I finished the socks for my grandmother? Have I finished the Sea Wool socks for me? Have I seamed that baby sweater? No on all three counts. Will I let that stop me from casting on something new? Of course not! I was in the process of photographing my stash for Ravelry, and I came across the SWTC Bamboo I picked up at The Point last year. It’s such a nice, summery yarn that I wanted to get going on the project that I had purchased it for: the Razor Cami by Katie Marcus. It’s a pretty big change from the original yarn–it’s got a lot more drape and less elasticity, so it might not work out quite as I had planned, but it’s definitely going to be an adventure either way.

The bamboo has been really nice to work with. It’s very soft and silky, and I adore the color (Plum). I do have to be mindful not to snag the plies of the yarn, though. I started on 3.25 mm Bryspun circular needles, and after trying on the first few inches, I’ve moved down to 3 mm Addis. As much as I do love knitting socks, I’m looking forward to this project as a nice change of pace.

4 thoughts on “Razor Cami

  1. I love that colour and that looks like a very nice cami.. good luck with it! I must find resolve to cast on for the mate of FIL’s socks. Monkey is calling me though. 😉

  2. Oh, I’ve always thought that was such a cute top. Can’t wait to see how yours comes together!

    (Should I be encouraging you to continue with your existing projects, rather than getting all squeaky about this new one? Oh well …)

  3. That’s the beauty of being a few inches into the cami now. All of a sudden, it is an existing project! And yes, I can justify just about anything, why do you ask?

  4. Quite true! Now that the cami is an existing project, I wholeheartedly encourage you to work on your existing projects. I love it.

Leave a Reply

