One down…

IMG_5785.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

One Reunion Sock to go. I finally finished the leg and the cuff on my Staten Island Yankees adventure on Sunday (by the way, since this was my first minor league baseball game–are all minor league team mascots horrible cheaters? Scooter the “Holey Cow” running off with the last remaining chair for the musical chairs game was kind of harsh, I thought). I was careful about dividing the Sea Wool in half, so I feel pretty confident about my decision to make a nice long cuff. The drooping elm leaf pattern is quite stretchy, so increases for the calf weren’t necessary, and I finished it off with 12 rounds of k1tbl, p1 ribbing and a sewn bindoff.

This is my attempt to get a shot of the sock in its “natural habitat”. I have a vague recollection of seeing a sign indicating that there are some elm trees somewhere in Central Park, but I didn’t have time to try to retrace my steps and actually find them, if they do exist, so I enlisted the help of some “stunt shrubbery”.
IMG_5484.JPG

I’ve already cast on for the second sock. This time I’m going with the Magic Cast On, because I had computer access while I was doing it, and because adjusting the tension of the Figure 8 was kind of a fiddly process. Hopefully this one will take less than a month to finish, though, so I can finally make those Monkey Socks that I’ve had my eye on.

Leave a Reply

