Eye Candy Friday: Hometown Tourist Edition

IMG_5543.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

There are tons of touristy things in New York that I’ve never done. When you grow up in the suburbs, you just sort of never get around to them, because they’re just…there (case in point: I never went up to the top of the Empire State Building until I was in my twenties, and my parents didn’t go until they were 25 years older than they were when they had me). As I’m getting closer to finishing up, I’m working on knocking a few more off my list, like taking the Staten Island Ferry, which is free, and provides a great view of the Statue of Liberty:
IMG_5549.JPG

and the Verrazano Narrows Bridge:
IMG_5693.JPG

Between ferry rides, my parents and I caught a Staten Island Yankees game. Their ballpark is a very short walk from the ferry, so that was quite convenient. We saw the Baby Bombers playing the Vermont Lake Monsters, the Nationals’ short-season A affiliate.

IMG_5601.JPG

Delin Betances, the 19-year old eighth round draft pick for the Yankees gave up two runs and came out early with elbow stiffness, the relief pitching had a rough day, and the SI Yankees never got into the game offensively. Despite the rather unconventional stances that some of the VerMonsters employed (he seriously stood like that until the pitch was thrown), they had a much better outing. But we still got to enjoy watching mascots
cheating at tug o’ war
, and I got a free compact fluorescent lightbulb from ConEd! Not bad for a day out.

One thought on “Eye Candy Friday: Hometown Tourist Edition

  1. 🙂 There are many touristy things I’ve not done. I never visited Lady Liberty (though I’ve been dragged to Ellis Island more times than I care to count). I hadn’t visited the Empire State Building until I was 22… I didn’t see the Guggenheim until last year! Anyway.. I’m worried.. are you going to be leaving me? We should get together for coffee/tea soon!

Leave a Reply

