And now for something different

IMG_5982.JPG, originally uploaded by limonene.

When the mercury rises, I can think of nothing better to do than to start a wool sweater for the fall. Actually, I started knitting this last week, before the heat hit in earnest, but I’m still standing behind my decision to begin knitting Wicked from Zephyr Style before I work on Tomato. After taking what felt like forever to finish the razor cami, I can only hope that I finish this up by the time it starts snowing. That, and the Debbie Bliss Merino DK that I picked up on sale from Little Knits has been aging a bit longer in the stash than the cotton for Tomato.

Of course, I can’t seem to knit anything lately without making some sort of major yarn substitution and pattern alteration, and Wicked is no different. The pattern calls for Artyarns Supermerino, which is worsted weight. As I don’t have anything in worsted weight in a large enough quantities for a sweater, I decided to go with the Merino DK. I’d previously used it for the stripes on my Tubey, and it was a great yarn to work with. The teal blue is bleeding on my hands a bit, but it’s a very soft, sturdy-feeling yarn.

Doing the Tubey saved me from swatching, but it didn’t save me from a bit of math. I figured that I needed to cast on 152 stitches to get the neck circumference that was called for. I ended up casting on only 148 because I ran out of yarn, but I figured that was close enough, and then I proceeded to scale everything from a 4.5 st/in gauge to 5.5 st/in. I’m knitting something sort of between the extra small and small sizes–the top-down construction has allowed me to try on as I go, and make adjustments on the fly.

I’m actually a little further along now than I was in this picture, when I happened to be in Central Park. I’ve removed the sleeves, and I’m knitting the body of the sweater. Until I hit the waist shaping, it’s just miles of stockinette (my one miscalculation in going down to a finer gauge yarn), but it’s been a good project for on the bus or reading or watching TV, or even standing on line. My goal is to finish by Labor Day, and I’m eager to see if I can pull it off, both time and yarn-wise.

2 thoughts on “And now for something different

  1. I love this sweater. I think that this will be in the que, after I finish my rusted root & a few gift shrugs from fitted knits. I really like the short sleeves.

Leave a Reply

