Yarn Candy Friday

Last Saturday, my mother and I went to Stitches East, in Baltimore. I…may have picked up a few things while we were there.
IMG_7687.JPG
I got some Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock Mediumweight in Highway 30, most likely to make something out of Cat Bordhi’s new sock architecture book.

IMG_7686.JPG
I also couldn’t resist the candy cane-like striping of some of the STR Silkie, in Mystic Kelp. The BMFA booth was seriously decimated by Saturday afternoon. I couldn’t help but wonder if they’d even have anything to sell on Sunday, but I was fortunate to find colors that I really liked among what was left. I guess it pays to have “different” taste.

IMG_7682.JPG
I also stopped by the Lisa Souza booth, and got a skein of Sock! in Wild Thing. . .

IMG_7681.JPG
And Sock! Merino in Berry Poppins. I’d been admiring this yarn from afar for a while because of all of the pretty colorways, but I like to get to feel the yarn before I’ll order it online, so it was great that they were there.

Another nice thing about Stitches is that you get to meet producers that you might not have heard of before.
IMG_7683.JPG
I got a skein of Storm Moon Knits’ Twilight Sock in “Rip Her to Shreds”. I figure what better way to break out of my blue/purple rut than with some hot pink (and, uh, blue and purple) yarn, right?

IMG_7694.JPG
I also got a pair of skeins of Green Mountain Spinnery Maine Organic for the Tyrolean Stockings from the Fall 2007 Interweave Knits.

IMG_7692.JPG
And then there was my really big purchase: 6 skeins of the Wool/Cotton from Shelridge Farms. I bought it as a kit for a sweater with cable detailing on the sides and sleeves that should be very cute in the light purple color. The people at the Shelridge booth were incredibly nice. I had swapped out the yarn originally in the kit for the size and color that I wanted, and after I had paid, they gave me an extra skein because they weren’t sure if the amount of yarn listed for the smallest size was going to be enough. If I had extra, I could bring the skein back at the next fiber festival we were both at. The yarn was just lovely, though, so after conferring with Mom, we decided to buy the skein outright, and if I have leftovers, I can then make a hat.

I also got some Elsebeth Lavold Classic AL and Kathmandu Tweed on deep clearance from the Webs booth, so I’m going to be in very, very good shape for whatever sweater patterns strike my fancy in the upcoming months. I’m thinking one of those might get turned into a Mr. Greenjeans, but you never know.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Candy Friday

Leave a Reply

