It’s that time of the year…

IMG_8058.JPG
The holiday season in New York can be a bit crazy-making. It’s already getting really crowded, and I anticipate the Rockefeller Center tree lighting ceremony will make it a challenge to get around this evening. But the window displays in the shops make it all worthwhile. This little guy in an antique-shop window made me do a double-take and get out the camera.

IMG_8064.JPG
I gave it a shot, but I’m nowhere near finishing my latest sweater this month. I did a bit of math and figured out that the two half-sleeves and the 4 inches of body are somewhere in the neighborhood of 23,000 stitches. There’s really no shame in making it halfway to the stitch-count, and this sweater has been a lot of fun to work on. I’m prone to go on knitting jags, where I’ll knit one type of thing to the exclusion of pretty much everything else. Last summer and fall it was lace shawls, this spring it was definitely socks, and now I’m on my third sweater in a row. I do need to finish knitting a sock for my grandmother before Christmas, and I want to make the mate to this Traveling Sock:
P8070032
I started it on my trip to England last summer.  It’s in some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport that I purchased on clearance, and I’m using Bryspun dpns.  I prefer to use Magic loop for my socks, but I didn’t want to run the risk of the TSA not liking it.  That’s a picture of the sock at the Tower of London.  I didn’t feel brave enough to ask one of the Yeoman Warders to hold it, so the outside of the building where the Crown Jewels are kept had to be good enough.

Leave a Reply

