Loose ends

I’ve had to start leaving my Racer Pullover at home lately. It’s gotten too big and heavy to comfortably carry around in my purse. I’ve decided to take my other Reunion Sock out of hibernation and get it finished up. I’m enjoying working with the Sea Wool again, which is good, since I’ve picked up a couple more skeins of it here and there. It comes in such lovely colors.
IMG_8796.JPG

There’s only one minor problem with my plan: the Drooping Elm Leaf pattern is a 10-row repeat, and I’ve been having a difficult time memorizing it. I’m still relying on the chart, so it’s not optimal for knitting in a dim setting, or when I’m distracted by something else.

It’s been a roller-coaster of a week down in the research mines, but fortunately it ended on a happy note. Sometimes things just work out much better than you expect them to, and I’m very grateful that this was one of those times.

Another thing that I’m grateful for is that it’s now less than 2 weeks until pitchers and catchers report. So before you know it, we’ll be treated to more scenes like this one:
IMG_7183.JPG
Joba Chamberlain earning his first major league win, against the Mariners, on September 5, 2007. He won in relief of Phil Hughes (who only gave up 2 runs before settling down), and it was a great thrill to get to see both of the young guns in the same game. I already have some tickets to games this upcoming season, and I’m looking forward to watching our young pitchers grow up.

Leave a Reply

