Back to basics

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks, so sometimes it’s comforting to just take things back to the most elemental level. I’ve decided to give up yarn purchases for Lent again, but this year, I took a bit of a different tack for my Mardi Fil. For starters, I actually had it on Sunday, at The Yarn Connection’s Super Bowl sale.
IMG_8807.JPG
Last year, I got some Socks that Rock yarn from Blue Moon Fiber Arts, but this year, I decided to stock up on good, basic, plain wool. I got two skeins of Cascade Eco Wool to make a Hemlock Ring Blanket or some variation of it, like the Egeblad doily in blanket size. At 40% off, I also decided to increase my Cascade 220 stash. It’s a good worsted weight yarn to have on hand in case some inspiration should strike.

Inspiration like how comforting it can be to knit up some nice garter stitch fabric. It’s knitting at its most basic: no pattern, no counting, almost no looking. Just cast on and go.
IMG_8825.JPG
It’s so relaxing to knit, especially after all the lace and cables I’ve worked on (and been working on) lately. I admit that I’m ignoring some very, very good advice to finish up projects before I start new ones, but this bit of knitting is just what the doctor ordered. I will try to give up startitis, though. I got this in under the wire on Tuesday, but it’s the last thing that I’ll cast on before finishing something else until Easter.

So it was a Super Bowl Sunday of basics. For me, it was solid wool yarn, and for the Giants, it was solid defense as they held the Patriots to just 14 points and won a game that seemed un-winnable on paper.
IMG_8810.JPG
On the other hand, there’s nothing wrong with some flash as well. Although butterfly-themed sock yarn will never come close to being as exciting as the Great Escape and that catch were, it’s definitely more in my league.

One thought on “Back to basics

  1. Pingback: Be true to your scarf « Limonene Knits

Leave a Reply

