Things I Learned from Knitting Book Signings

IMG_9379.JPG
This past Wednesday, I had a choice of two talks to go to: one by Frank Gehry, and one by knitting blogger Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. From the picture above, you can guess which event I picked. I’m not at all fond of most of Gehry’s work (and in fact, my alma matter is suing him), but I regularly wear a hat that Stephanie designed, and will probably be making another version of it in a different color, so it ended up being an easy decision.

Because I had allowed myself extra time in case of crosstown traffic, I arrived at the bookstore 50 minutes early, to find no free chairs. The staff there seemed a little shocked that enough people had showed up to fill every chair that they had for special events, but they were in pretty good spirits anyway (I commented to one of them how he’d have his picture on so many blogs tomorrow morning, and he expressed surprise that knitting was so popular). The talk was definitely worth sticking around for.  I’m not a neuroscientist, so I can’t vouch for the discussion of brainwaves, but she did really sum up how different and hard to categorize knitters are, all the while making sure to interject some of the humor inherent in crafting to keep us all, er, in stitches.  After it was all said and done, I picked up a copy of her latest book, and hung around to have it autographed. In that photo, I’m holding the Traveling Sock, and she’s holding the center of my latest project, the Fir Cone Shawl from Folk Knits:
IMG_9392.JPG

My other favorite part of these book signings is all the interesting people I meet. Last year, and the year before I met Penny, who gave me the push I needed to start my own blog. This year I spent the time on line with Kate, and several other really cool knitters whose urls I didn’t catch to link to. We also got to admire Glenna’s gorgeous Venezia pullover, which has really inspired me to get with the colorwork. I’m not quite ready for it on that level–her sweater was beautiful inside and out–but I have the yarn for the Ivy League Vest, which should be a good jumping off point.  So really, for the second year in a row, going to a book reading has made me a braver knitter, and who can ask for more than that?

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned from Knitting Book Signings

  1. Go go brave knitting!
    I for one, have never knitted a lace shawl, despite having done fair isle several times. I think that will be my bit of bravery this coming summer 😉

Leave a Reply

