Enchanted

I’ve read a bit about Elizabeth Zimmermann in knitting magazines, and I’ve picked up a couple of her books, but I had made it through several years of knitting without ever attempting one of her patterns.  It seemed like high time to fix that, with the February Baby Sweater on Two Needles from Knitters’ Almanac.  After all, how can you go wrong with garter stitch, a simple lace pattern and almost-seamless construction?
IMG_0510.JPG

You really can’t.  The terseness of the directions was a bit alarming at first, as the entire thing is about half a page long, but sometimes things really are that simple.  This sweater is a very refreshing knit.

The details:

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Merino DK (just under 3 skeins, left over from Wicked
Needles: 4 mm
Buttons: From M&J Trimming
Notes: I took a page from Anne-Marie and made 3 buttonholes at the top of the sweater instead of all the way down the cardigan (I also took her advice to start the buttonholes before the pattern mentions doing them). The other main change I made to the pattern was to make it seamless by putting the stitches for the sleeves on hold until the body was done and then picking up stitches under the arm for knitting in the round.  I’m aiming for a 6-month size, but I know so little about the relative proportions of babies that I can only hope for the best.  The sweater is 11 inches wide, and 10 inches long, if that means anything.

What can you do when you’ve just finished what may be the sweetest baby sweater ever? Why, you cast on another one.

IMG_0511.JPG

This one is Knitpicks Shine Sport in Orchid that was re-purposed from another intended project, and 3.75 mm needles instead of 4 mm. It’s going even faster than the first one now that I’ve figured out what I’m doing, and I bought the cutest little duck buttons at Tender Buttons on 62nd St.

And speaking of ducks. . .
IMG_0580.JPG
They’re back!



4 thoughts on “Enchanted

  1. Hooray for ducklings! I haven’t made it to Faculty Club yet to see them but rumors abound that there are two families again this year. I wonder if we’ll get a repeat of the duckwars that happened last year? Obviously there isn’t enough drama on the RU campus….

  2. That sweater was my first EZ pattern ever and I was enchanted as well. I had the same reaction to the directions, but if you follow carefully, the end result is pretty marvelous. She was a genius, I think.

Leave a Reply

