Sending out an “SOS”

I’m doing the Summer of Socks 2008 knitalong this year. I’m trying to be realistic about what my goals for the knitalong are. I know that I don’t have a chance in the competition to knit the most socks (it started at midnight on Saturday, and people had finished socks by Monday), and I’ll have to see how I do with my “socks on vacation” photo. So I’ll be treating it as an opportunity to work through some of my sock yarn stash and to try out some new patterns.
IMG_1568
One sock pattern that I somehow managed not to knit yet are Monkey socks from Knitty. I’ve had them in the queue pretty much since the pattern came out, but just never got around to doing them. But once I received my latest skein from the All Raveled Up Sock Club, I knew it was fate. The name of this colorway is “Codemonkey,” so what could be more appropriate than, well, Code-Monkeys? The first one knitted up incredibly quickly for me. The lace pattern is very easy to memorize and read, and I found it to be simple enough to be social knitting.
IMG_1559
I finished up the first one at a Sit ‘n’ Knit event on Wednesday night, at the Raul Midon concert in Madison Square Park.

My Mactop is in the shop with a busted hard drive, so I currently lack the ability to crop photos.
IMG_1394
When she gets back, I have a lot of baseball game recapping to do, between seeing Joba and Andy start for the Yankees this past weekend (and yes, Andy Pettitte does have the sweetest pickoff move in baseball), and my plans to catch the Brooklyn Cyclones with M on Saturday, and the Red Sox with J over the holiday weekend. The season is three months old, but it’s finally baseball weather and I am loving every minute of it.

3 thoughts on “Sending out an “SOS”

  1. Yay for baseball and knitting! I think it’s so interesting to read people’s reactions to actually knitting the Monkey socks, ranging from frogging/cursing to “why did I wait so long to try this?” I’m in the middle–tried to knit my first pair with a yarn that ended up being too variegated, and thus obscured the pattern, but I know which skeins in my stash are designated for them later this summer.

Leave a Reply

